Doshas, Our Unique Blueprint

We all have all three doshas in a unique proportion. Most of us have two predominant doshas. Even if two people are Vata-Pitta, like I am, the portions of the elements are going to be different and unique to each person. What works for me might not work for another person with a Vata-Pitta constitution and vice-versa.

Before defining what doshas are, it’s best to understand how knowing our unique blueprint helps us regain control of our well-being.


Benefits of knowing your unique blueprint (doshas)

It helps you identify your emotional responses and take proper action in order to avoid feeling anxious, angry, depressed, or any other negative responses you might experience.

Understanding your doshas allows you to choose foods that rid your body of inflammation and bring you to balance.

It shows you the best way to relax according to your dosha’s combination and also teaches you what kind of weather and activities benefit you.

Knowing your doshas can help you discover the best way to take care of your skin,the largest organ of the body. Skincare routines are unique to each dosha; Vatas tend to have dry skin, Pittas tend to have sensitive skin, and Kaphas tend to have oily skin.

Your dosha also guides you on the type of exercise that can bring you to balance. Before finding Ayurveda, I was training for a half marathon running 19 miles a week. Instead of having fewer anxious episodes, they were increasing. When I learned what my dosha makeup was, I switched to yoga and started feeling calmer. Here is a story the yoga studio I belong to posted on their website after I finished my 100th class!

It gives you an understanding of how to interact with your environment in your everyday life.

Knowing your unique blueprint (doshas), is like having our own user manual, including a troubleshooting guide.

Now that we know the benefits, let’s move to define what doshas are and take our Quiz to learn what your predominant dosha is.


According to Ayurveda, the five natural elements; fire, water, earth, air, and ether (space), not only exist on Earth but also in our bodies. The constant interaction of these elements combines and forms the three mind-body types or Doshas; VataPitta, and Kapha

DOSHA means unbalance, vice, or fault. Doshas are forces that we can understand when we are aware of their qualities. It requires us to be present and make conscious decisions to avoid the tendency of the dosha to act on itself. For example, Pitta’s predominant element is fire; having a spicy dish for lunch on a hot day increases the fire which can produce indigestion, burning sensations, anger, or irritability.

Take our QUIZ to discover your mind-body type and use your unique blueprint as a guide to actively regain wellness. 

The five elements

Fire: bright, sharp, intense, hot. Represents intelligence, discernment, understanding, digestion, and transformation.

Water: cold, flexible, cohesive, wet. Represents love, faith, compassion, joy, and unity. 

Earth: firm, rigid, heavy, stable, dense, cold. Represents stillness, stability, serenity, safety, and understanding.

Air: mobile, dry, irregular, cold, light. Represents spontaneity, enthusiasm, and creativity.

Space (ether): subtle. Represents peace, expansion, and freedom. It is the element where the other 4 elements are created.

What is my Dosha

We have doshas for the mind and the body, the spirit or soul does not have a dosha. It is essential to know our mind-body type at the time of conception (Prakriti) and to know our current (vikruti) state when we want to reconnect to our natural balance.

Prakriti: in Sanskrit means “nature.”

It is our unique dosha’s combination at the time of conception. As long as we keep that proportion in the body and mind, we can live happily and without symptoms of illness or discomfort. After the moment of conception, any experience in our mother’s womb and our environment will affect our unique blueprint. That is called Vikriti.

Vikriti: in Sankrit means “after creation” or deviation of nature. 

Our environment influences us daily, modifying the proportion of our doshas. Keeping them in harmony is a challenge of self-observation and self-knowledge. Experiencing symptoms of illness or discomfort, lack of peace, or lack of fulfillment is a sign we are in Vikriti or imbalance.

The three primary doshas 

The combination of space and wind creates VataPitta is the mix of fire and water, and Kapha is the result of combining water and earth.

Doshas determine how we interact with our environment and how that affects our experience and well-being.

Being aware of our doshas and their tendencies, offer us the option to make conscious decisions. 

Empowering yourself

Understanding that our nature, doshas, our unique blueprint, and the world are changeable and impermanent helps us understand why Ayurveda is not an isolated treatment but a process. In this lifestyle, every day, we have the opportunity to choose our actions. It is a path of self-observation and self-understanding through tools, practices, and behaviors that help us regain harmony and inner peace repeatedly.

Take time to learn about your mind-body type and use your unique blueprint as a guide to actively regaining wellness. 

Have a beautiful day!

Take our QUIZ to LEARN your Dosha or choose your Wellness Journey: PERSONALIZED CARE or WORKSHOPS

 “To be healthy, we must reconnect with all aspects of ourselves.”

Note: The information in this article is intended for your educational use only and is not a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis, or treatment. Always seek the advice of your physician or other qualified health providers with any questions you may have regarding a medical condition and before undertaking any diet, supplement, fitness, or other health programs.

Scroll to Top